Relax and Retreat at Little Hallingbury Mill
Welcome to The Mill
Welcome to Little Hallingbury Mill Hotel and Bistro situated on the Essex/Hertfordshire border close to Stansted Airport, Bishop’s Stortford and Sawbridgeworth. We are a small, independent family run hotel who take great pride in delivering friendly service, food and hospitality from the heart. Set alongside a pretty tributary of the River Stort, Little Hallingbury Mill is a grade II historic listed water mill providing a home to a hotel, restaurant and venue for intimate small weddings, events and special occasions.
Little Hallingbury Mill is quoted as early as 1086 in the Domesday Book. A very unique location which is steeped in history and intrigue. Little Hallingbury Mill, recorded from 1641, was originally called Tednam mill because it was near Tednambury manor in Sawbridgeworth.
In 1693 Charterhouse leased the mill to Edward Ettrick and John Barlstead, London merchants, who rebuilt it as a silk mill. Silk manufacture, employing many local women, continued until c. 1770. In 1778 the mill was converted by James Pavitt and Richard Martin for corn grinding. It was sold in 1800 to George Pavitt, whose family owned it in 1838, and may have closed soon after.
A new mill was built in 1874, and in 1885 the old mill, on the site of the present granary, was demolished. The mill of 1874 was used as a corn mill until 1952. In 1966 it became the headquarters of Lea and Stort Cruises Ltd. The building and machinery were restored between 1967 and 1971. A windmill, which stood south-east of the water-mill, was apparently worked with it for a short time in the 19th century.
The Mill was converted from a working flour mill to a restaurant and then to a hotel in the late 1960’s and has been open as a wedding venue, hotel and restaurant for the past 25 years.